7 Days of Photography Experiments: Day 3 – Doppelgangers…

Overview…

Often when I get a new piece of camera equipment or have a concept for an image I want to create I’ll do a quick test.

For most tests I need a subject or a volunteer. In the Klee household “good” volunteers are extremely difficult to come by. But I did find someone who always understands the concept I’m trying to do, has a great deal of patience and doesn’t mind embarrassing themselves. This volunteer would be ME.

Every couple of days for the next 2 weeks I’m going to post one of my tests (with me taking the photo as well as being the unfortunate volunteer). I’ll upload a photo or video and try to briefly explain what I was trying to accomplish with the test (other than look silly).

Day 3 – Doppelgangers

What is a doppelganger? It’s a body-double, an impostor or a look alike.

It’s often fun to have the subject in a photograph interact with a double of themselves as if they were another person. I’ve done some testing on this already and have incorporated the technique into a couple High School Senior shoots for fun.

Here are a couple of basic examples that I did with myself as the subject:

Bring out the clones!
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

I will always win this argument!
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

And here are a few examples done with Seniors:

One of my first attempts at this and still one that makes me laugh. The Bully…
Bully! A funny composite photo of my son punching himself in the face.

A colorful bunch of fellas!
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Stop pushing me!!!
Photo & Video Sharing by SmugMug

Leave a Reply

